A felony is a crime that is punishable by more than one year imprisonment in a state prison. Generally, should a crime require less than one year imprisonment, it will be classified as a misdemeanor. Our goal is to protect our clients’ rights, and provide them with options and guidance at every step along the way. If you are in need of a felony
Aggravated assault is essentially assault using a deadly weapon. In Florida, aggravated assault is charged as a felony offense. Aggravated assault is a third-degree felony offense which may result in severe criminal penalties for those convicted, including up to five years in prison. However, minimum time served in prison is reliant on the type of weapon that was used in the crime. Speak with an experienced felony attorney to determine the penalties that you may be facing in your case.
Battery on Elderly Person
Battery is defined as the defendant intentionally touching the victim without their consent. If battery is committed on a person 65 years of age or older, your punishment could be more severe than if battery had been committed on a younger person. You could also be facing even more severe penalties if a deadly weapon was used.
In Florida, a child abuse felony in the third degree is punishable by up to five years and an aggravated child abuse is a first-degree felony punishable by up to 30 years. The general public is very aware of child abuse cases, and the State of Florida is very serious about arresting and prosecuting individuals accused of child abuse.
While some may think that criminal mischief is a minor crime, being charged with criminal mischief is a serious matter that can result in felony charges. Criminal mischief involves the injury or destruction of property. If the value of the property that has been damaged or destroyed exceeds $1,000, then it is considered a third-degree felony.
Dealing in Stolen Property
Also referred to as “trafficking in stolen property,” the offense of dealing in stolen property is a second-degree felony. The prosecutor will be required to show that you either knew—or should have known—the property was stolen. If you had any knowledge that the property you trafficked was stolen, you will face a first-degree felony with a very serious penalty of up to thirty years in prison.
Fraud / Credit Card Fraud
Credit card fraud is any fraud that is committed with the use of a credit card. Common types of credit card fraud include physically stealing a credit card, phishing, account takeover, and skimming. If you are being charged with with credit card fraud, you need a knowledgeable attorney on your side to defend your case.
First Degree Murder
In Florida, first degree murder is a capital offense with life sentencing without possibility of parole or death sentencing awarded for a conviction. A person can be charged with first degree murder when they commit a premeditated murder or a felony murder. A premeditated murder is a preplanned act of one individual against another. This crime is taken very seriously in the state of Florida, and it is vital that you have an experienced attorney handling your case.
In Florida, grand theft is the most commonly charged felony theft offense, and it involves unlawfully taking property worth more than $300 while intending to either permanently or temporarily deprive the owner of that property. Grand theft may be charged as first, second, or third degree depending on the value of the property and other factors.
Manslaughter occurs when a person recklessly causes the death of an individual. Manslaughter is considered a Second Degree Felony in the state of Florida punishable by up to fifteen years in prison, fifteen years of probation, and up to $10,000 in fines.
There are three types of manslaughter:
- Manslaughter by Act (Voluntary Manslaughter): Committing an intentional act that was neither excusable, nor justified, that resulted in the death of another person.
- Manslaughter by Procurement (Voluntary Manslaughter): Persuading, inducing, or encouraging another person to commit an act that resulted in the death of another person.
- Manslaughter by Culpable Negligence (Involuntary Manslaughter): Engaging in “Culpably Negligent” conduct that resulted in the death of another person.
Possession of Concealed Weapon
If you carry a concealed weapon for which you do not have a permit, you could face Third Degree Felony charges punishable by up to 5 years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000.
A concealed firearm may be located in any of the following:
- In a person’s pocket
- In a belt holster hidden under a jacket
Wedged in a belt and hidden under the clothes
- In any other type of holster that is concealed from another person’s view
Possession of Controlled Substance
A conviction for possession of a controlled substance, such as marijuana, cocaine, heroin, methamphetamines, MDMA (Ecstasy), opium, morphine, anabolic steroids, or diazepam, may have many long-term consequences. Penalties for possession of a controlled substance vary by the type of substance, amount, and intent.
Possession w/ Intent to Distribute
Possession of a controlled substance with the intent to distribute it usually results in felony charges. Typically, the intent to distribute, or sell, the controlled substance is assumed when the accused is holding an amount too large to be for only personal use.
Second Degree Murder
Second degree murder is defined as a person who commits a murder with a depraved mind, without any premeditated design and no regard for human life. You could also be charged with second degree murder if you were an accomplice to a murder. Penalties for a second degree murder can result in a minimum prison sentence and fines up to $10,000. This crime is considered a First Degree Felony.
Uttering Forged Instrument
When a person knowingly publishes or puts into circulation any forged or altered financial document, legal document or other writing with the intent to misrepresent it as true and defraud others it amounts to uttering a forged instrument. Uttering forged documents is a third degree felony in Florida and may be punishable by up to 5 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $5,000.